What type of Project Manager do you want to be?

Have you ever worried that you are haphazardly grasping at a path?  Becoming the type of Project Manager that is sought after as a trusted adviser doesn’t just happen.  You have to be deliberate in defining the type of Project Manager that you want to be.

Going through a recent coaching exercise on personal branding, I was asked the question “when you are at your best, as you leave a room full of your peers, direct reports, and managers, what words would the people use to describe you?”

PMI provides a very long list of the competencies of a Project Manager as part of the PMBOK (including a separate publication on the PM Competency Development Framework), and generally groups the competency definition down into three categories – Knowledge, Performance, and Personal.

Knowledge – what a project manager knows about the application of processes, tools and techniques in project activities

Performance – how a project manager applies project management knowledge to meet project requirements

Personal – how a project manager behaves when performing activities in a project environment

It took a while for me to formulate my answer, but when I did I got to thinking as to what type of project manager I am and the type that I want to be.  I can tell you that I don’t want to be a smarmy sales type PM; nor do I want to be a Pointy Haired Boss type; and boy do I hate the PMs that play lingo bingo.

dilbertestimate

So what type of Project Manager do you want to be?  Do you want to be one who is adept at the technical elements of your project?  Do you want to be a project manager that is focused on EAC, BAC, and SPI?  Do you want to be a leader of people?  Can you be excellent at all of these?

When you are at your best, as you leave a room full of your peers, direct reports, and managers, what words would people use to describe the type of Project Manager you are?

About Jason H Zalmanowitz
I am a nerdy Management Consultant / Project Manager with a MBA, have spent the majority of my career working for consulting firms in Calgary, and I race in triathlons because of (and thanks to) my wife. As a Project Manager, I have managed field implementations, strategy development projects, software development projects, and hardware implementation projects. As a consultant, I have helped companies articulate how and why they are going to implement and interact with sustaining technology to support their business.

Leave a Reply

